Washington Redskins News

Washington Redskins news page give you update information about the Washington Redskins a American Professional Football team based in Landover, Maryland.

The Washington Redskins joined the NFL in 1932.

They are in the Eastern Division of the National Football Conference in the NFL.

The Washington Redskins play their homes games at the FedExField in Landover, Maryland. 

Their headquarters is Inova Sports Performance Center Park at Redskins Park in Ashburn, Virginia and their practice facilities is located in Richmond, Virginia.


The City of Boston, was awarded an NFL franchise on July 9, 1932 under the ownership of George Preston Marshall, Vincent Bendix, Jay O'Brien, and Dorland Doyle.

The team took the place of the Cleveland Indians, who were operating under the franchise name Newark Tornadoes, which the NFL has never claim the history of these 2 teams.

The new franchise's financial losses during the first season reached $46,000 and Bendix, O'Brien, and Doyle dropped out of the investment, leaving Marshall the sole owner of the Braves.

Initially, the new team took the same name as their landlords, the Boston Braves, one of the two local baseball teams at the time. The next year, the owners changed the team's name to the Boston Redskins.

To help the name changed, Marshall hired William "Lone Star" Dietz, who was part Sioux, as the team's head coach. However, Boston wasn't much of a football town at the time and the team had difficulty drawing fans.

Marshall decided to move the Redskins to Washington, D.C. in 1937.

Marshall sought to incorporate many elements of the college football atmosphere into Redskins game. The college game was more popular than the NFL game.

Due to the popularity of the College game on August 9, 1937, Marshall founded the Redskins marching band, a fight song and cheerleaders.

Marshall goal was to entertain fans from the time they arrive at the stadium until the time they leave the stadium. The Washington Redskins and Baltimore Ravens are the only 2 teams in the NFL with an official marching band. 

The Washington Redskins news were also one of the first NFL team to have a fight song, "Hail to the Redskins", which made its debut on August 17, 1938. The song was composed by band leader Barnee Breeskin and the lyrics were written by actress Corinne Griffith, the wife of Marshall.

On June 14, 1950 George Preston Marshall announced that the American Oil Company planned to televise all Redskins games, making Washington the first NFL team to have an entire season of televised games. Before that, in 1944, the Redskins formed a radio network to broadcast their games throughout the southern United States.

Marshall wanted to make the Washington Redskins news the most successful franchise in the NFL.

The team had success early in Washington, D.C. but, after 1945, the Redskins began a slow decline that did not end until a playoff appearance during the 1971 season.

Integration of Black Players

A well known racist and segregationist George Preston Marshall is a big reason why the Redskins had losing season from 1945 until 1962.

During these unsuccessful seasons, Marshall refuse to integrate the team, despite pressure from The Washington Post and the federal government of the United States. Shirley Povich of the Washington Post wrote,  ("Jim Brown, born ineligible to play for the Redskins, integrated their end zone three times yesterday").

On March 24, 1961, Secretary of the Interior Stewart Udall warned Marshall to hire black players or face federal retribution. For the first time in history, the federal government had attempted to desegregate a professional sports team.

Finally, under the threat of civil rights legal action by President John F. Kennedy and his administration, which would have prevented a segregated team from playing at the new District of Columbia Stadium, as it was owned by the U.S. Department of the Interior and was federal government property, the Washington Redskins news became the final professional football franchise to integrate, in 1962, in their second season in the stadium.

Changing of Ownership

In 1961, Jack Kent Cooke purchased a 25% interest in the Washington Redskins after team owner and founder George Preston Marshall became incapacitated by a stroke, becoming majority owner in 1974 and sole owner in 1985.

Cooke owned team until his death in 1997. Cooke's son, John Kent Cooke, tried to put in a competitive bid to keep the team in the family, but May 25, 1999, Daniel Snyder who is the current owner gained unanimous approval (31–0) from league owners and purchase the franchise for $800 million, a deal that was the most expensive team-purchasing deal in sporting history.

NFL Championships and Super Bowls

Washington Redskins have won:

  • 2 NFL Championship
  • 3 Super Bowls
  • 5 Conference Championships
  • 14 Divisional Championships

Washington Redskins News

Build Your Own Web Page

Do you have comments, opinions or stories about the Washington Redskins? If you submit them here, other visitors can read them, rate them and comment on them. Your E-mail is not required.